Old Emanuel Rugby was founded in 1909-10 as the old boy's club for Emanuel School Alumni. Matches were originally played on a ground in Earlsfield before our current home 'Blagdons' was established in the mid 1920's. Barring the two world wars, the Club has played continuously since its inception. Whilst we have not provided any household names in the rugby world, the Club has enjoyed the pleasure of having many fine players representing England A, England Students, England Colts, Scotland U21, Combined Services, Surrey and Combined London Old Boys. The 1st XV currently play in London & SE Division 2 South West with 2nd and 3rd XVs playing in the Surrey Merit table leagues.
In 1999, the club opened its doors to non-old boys and since then has expanded to become an RFU-accredited Community Club gaining the RFU’s Seal of Approval and Club Mark accreditation. The club now boasts a 300-strong Minis 'Lions' section (U5-18), Girls, Touch Rugby and Vets 'Portscullers' teams. Members also have Crossfit and state-of-the-art weights facilities.
The aims of the club are:
• To promote rugby in our local community
• To encourage and support rugby participation in all aspects and teams within the club in a safe and enjoyable environment
• To create a sustainable financial, legal and commercial framework from which the rugby club and its activities can be maintained, thrive and grow.